Hello 2016!

My first foster of 2016 arrived last week!
Name: Zémire (ze-meer-ah)
Age: 1-2 years
Breed: Catahoula mix
Energy Level: Medium-low
Nicknames: Zem, ZemmieZoo, Zemmie
In two words: submissive, calm (unsure in some situations)

Questioning my resolve on the "no couch" rule

Questioning my resolve on the “no couch” rule

I wasn’t sure if I was going to take on another foster when I came back in the new year. I’m expecting to get a job soon, and will be interviewing out of state to that end, and didn’t want to shuffle a foster around too much. But the Waco shelter is so full and short on kennel space due to construction, so I just decided to go for it.

Zémire has been with us for a week now, and made the transition from the big tent at the shelter to my apartment in record time. She and Galen are pretty neutral about each other. Zem is all about the petting so she has a supernatural ability to ignore Galen’s flying boxer routine every morning. I can’t say enough good things about her. She’s chock full of personality, sweet as honey, and so freaking cute.

Yes, she's sleeping in a box.

Yes, she’s sleeping in a box.

In a short week she’s had tapeworms (solved day 1), kennel cough (just about gone), and colitis (from a treat, I think; also just about resolved), and all of it while in heat. Throughout everything she’s been steady-eddy, maybe a little clingy because of the hormones, but never grumpy or closed off.

I think she’d be happiest just being somebody’s lapdog. She might make a good emotional support dog with some training, though. She’s learning the basics pretty quick – has sit in the bag, down is pretty close, and wait is up to a couple feet away for 10-ish seconds.

I’m so glad we were able to save this girl. And why she was at the shelter for 2 months (to the day) without getting snatched up I don’t understand.  I have to assume there’s some reason our paths have crossed, if nothing more that to have some snuggles for a couple weeks (Galen likes to be near me but in his own space, which I like most of the time, but having a snuggle bug around is nice).

After the "no couch" phase

After the “no couch” phase

 

Leave a Reply

